Singing his Songs…with Heart

Bruce Springsteen’s new album, “The Rising” releases on Tues. July 30 — his first with the E Street Band since 1987. In a rare interview on his Mounmouth County, New Jersey farm:

“I felt that I saw nobility in people…the kind where people go in to work every day, they come home every day and dinner’s on the table every day. There’s people doing this in little ways every day all the time. These are the people that I want to write about. This is what I think is important. That’s what moves me. That’s what makes me want to sing my song.”

“After the 11th, I think one of the things people were shocked at was that that was alive in some fashion. I think that we live in a particular pop culture moment, that there’s a theater of humiliation on TV and on the radio, a reflection of self-loathing. I don’t think anyone could imagine these sacrifices.”

“…and then all people have is hope…just a hope grounded in the real world of living, friendship, work, family, Saturday night. And that’s where it resides. That’s where I always found faith and spirit. I found them down in those things, not some place intangible or some place abstract. And I’ve really tried to write about that basic idea my whole life.”

Read the interview.

Leave a Reply

