More than a meal

Oshougatsu (お正月) at the folks’ place was very enjoyable, and we had a lot of great food, drink, talk and laughs. As usual, mom was the anchor in making sure we had all the wonderful gochisou (御馳走) that we take for granted. There were a few moments yesterday when I couldn’t help thinking that the number of future oshougatsu with everyone there is finite — and this made me appreciate the day even more. After the meal, cousin Ron and I were talking about mom & pop, and he asked me sincerely, “Do you know how lucky you are?” and all I could say was, “Oh yeah, I know.” And after asking me a second time, to make sure, he understood.

Leave a Reply

