Fallen hero

UPDATE: Cliff called…funeral service is Monday, March 12 at 3:00pm.

Nishi Hongwanji
815 East First Street
Los Angeles, CA 90012

Tel. (213) 680-9130

________

Yesterday evening I was very surprised to see in the Rafu that Ted Ohira, who served in the highly decorated 442nd Regimental Combat Team, has passed away. According to the front-page article, his passing was sudden and unexpected.

The Ohira’s live right next door to Cliff, so we have some good memories of them (and broken diving boards!).

I’ll always remember something funny Mr. Ohira said: “Just call me Ted,” which he said to Steve, after two or three funny attempts at getting Mr. Ohira’s last name right.

Mr. Ohira was awarded three Bronze Stars for bravery during the war. Watch this short video clip of Mr. Ohira explaining why he did what he did. His humility is truly amazing, but that is the Nisei way, and a good reminder on the value of living life in an honorable way.

5 responses to “Fallen hero

  1. Ken Shigemitsu

    Thanks for mentioning Ted. His loss has been a painful blow to me.

  2. Ken, you’re welcome. One of our best friends, Cliff Miyoshi, is their neighbor, so that’s how we got to know the Ohira’s in our “younger days.”

  3. Ken Shigemitsu

    As the angel said in the movie “It’s a Wonderfule Life”, it is amazing how many lives Ted touched, including mine over the past 7 years. He was my hero, my friend, and like my 2nd dad. Thanks!

  4. Ken Shigemitsu

    darn……I didn’t notice the “e” at the end of “wonderful”

  5. Edna Tengco Ito

    Found Howard Osa’s Blog and something caught my eye. It was Cliff Miyoshi’s name. I have been trying to find him for years now. Cliff and I were gymnasts at Kearny High School in the late 60’s.
    If this (is a miracle) is the same guy..COULD SOMEONE PLEASE TELL HIM TO CONTACT ME ASAP?????? My cell is 619-672-4641, if I don’t pick up…LEAVE A CALLBACK ###!!!!!!!!!PLZ,!! Could be URGENT!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

